What is an Idaho Title Loan?
An Idaho title loan is a title loan according to the rules and regulations of the state of Idaho. Since title loans are secured by an asset provided by the borrower (usually an automobile), which the lender is able to claim in the event of a default, they tend to be very short and feature high-interest rates. Also, although there are often no limits on title loan amounts, they tend to be rather small (usually smaller than $10,000), as they are governed principally by the value of the asset.
Certain details regarding title loans vary state by state. In Idaho, loan terms cannot be longer than 30 days. However, loans will be automatically renewed unless paid off.
Table of Contents
Because title loans tend to be small in both length and amount, interest rates tend to be high, often 25% per month, which amounts to a 300% APR.
Since title loans are asset-based, all lenders will not review applicants’ credit scores/histories – all that is required is the asset (generally, a lien-free car in the borrower’s name), a government-issued I.D., and that the borrower is at least 18 years of age.
Idaho restricts title loans by the following statutes: ID Code § 28-46-503 (2017): title loan lenders must be licensed. ID Code § 28-46-506 (2017): payment periods must not be longer than 30 days and will be renewed automatically unless the borrower pays in full, surrenders the title, or provides a written request that the loan not be renewed. ID Code § 28-46-507 (2017): lenders must give 10-days notice before claiming possession of the borrower’s automobile.